Love & Work

Soooooo…. at last, a shiny new blog.

The title is from an Emily Dickinson poem. I’m sure you know it: Because I Could Not Stop for Death. I chose it because of how it expresses stasis & momentum tugging at each other. This poem makes me want to sit still & just wait for the end, almost comatose, but also rush about do-do-doing stuff. Both reactions occur because I’m reminded that one day I will be (we will all be) in that rolling carriage, the one that holds only us and Death himself. Morbid, true, worth keeping in mind. But in the meantime we have lives to perform, other beings to love, and work to do.

Sigmund Freud, riddled with cancer of the mouth & jaw (cigars!), said Love and work are the cornerstones of our humanness. In this carriage-blog I will write about work & love… perhaps about how they’re intertwined, especially in art. But I’ll also write about fun, play and laziness. And hatred, only occasionally (I am VERY mild-mannered but three times in my life I have experienced prolonged, passionate hatred and wished someone dead… and, well, it wasn’t pretty).

I’ll put glittery, beautiful things & fascinating people & creatures in here (watch out for yourself). It’s highly likely that I’ll write about beauty, glamour, fashion, body parts and bodily fluids (watch out for yourself).

I’m putting Marrickvillia out to pasture, officially, although I will still visit her often.

Sarsaparilla, vessel of many joyful blogging moments, has eventually died of technological complications after a long illness.  You can still hear her ghost at Pandora.

Hitch a ride here anytime — RSS-feed, bookmark, blogroll, comment, and please return.

Tags: , , , , ,

16 Responses to “Love & Work”

  1. Zoo Says:

    well hello there,

    and the first tag is… cigar 🙂

    i like this already!

    x
    z

  2. Ann oDyne Says:

    as I swing this virtual bottle of best bubbly against the carriage prow to launch it onto a sea of friends …. what? nobody asked me to? and it’s roads not ‘sea’? oh alright then.
    Happy Trails To You

  3. Julia Says:

    great looking blog meredith.

  4. Yousei Hime Says:

    What enthusiatic supportive friends you have! I like the spirit of your new blog and look forward to reading more.

  5. Cress Says:

    I had a little mourn for Marrickvillia, which I loved, but I imagine it came to be onerous work.

  6. TimT Says:

    I was at the bar the other week during an open mike poetry session when it was pointed out that every Emily Dickinson poem could be sung to the tune of ‘The Yellow Rose of Texas’.

    Still can’t get it out of my head now when this poem’s mentioned.

    Not sure whether this is an auspicious first-new-blog comment or not.

  7. Yousei Hime Says:

    Being a product of Texas myself, I think any connection to Texas is a good one. Just kidding, roses are good though.

  8. Yousei Hime Says:

    Silly me. I didn’t associate the name and blog site. Thank you so much for visiting my site and the comments you shared. I welcome visits, comments, compliments and advice.

  9. Pavlov's Cat Says:

    “… it was pointed out that every Emily Dickinson poem could be sung to the tune of ‘The Yellow Rose of Texas’.”

    I’d like, however deludedly, to think that this is my fault — once I’d realised it was the case, I used this for years as a standard line when I was teaching metre and form in poetry classes. It’s just possible that some ex-Melb U student has remembered something I taught him/her about ballad metre.

  10. TimT Says:

    That could indeed be the case, I gathered at the time that it was just one of those literary anecdotes that get handed about because they are too good not to be told over and over again.

  11. Meredith Says:

    Indeed PC I remember that from your luscious lectures.

  12. Pavlov's Cat Says:

    *blushes*

    Having checked to see what Wikipedia has to say about ballad metre, I can now report that, for the same reason, one can also sing most of Emily Dickinson to Amazing Grace and O Little Town of Bethlehem. Try it. Mwahahahaha.

  13. Leigh Blackmore Says:

    I don’t know much about Emily Dickinson but it’s nice to see a shiny new blog from you, Meredith. Sad farewells to Marrickvillia.

  14. Zoe Says:

    oh, hello there! Yay, new bloggage.

    xx

  15. Kirsty Says:

    Looking forward to hearing all about love and work and their intersection!

  16. Beanie Says:

    It’s New Years Day 2011. I’ve just re-read every one of your posts. The greatest treat. I love you x

Leave a Reply

